Skip to Content

Joint Affiliation Board

Main Content

An Affiliation Board with representation from the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) and NMDP provides general oversight of CIBMTR's budget and operations. 


  • Review and approve an annual budget
  • Review and approve a research plan
  • Assess CIBMTR productivity quarterly
  • Establish other CIBMTR committees, as needed
  • Amend, as necessary, terms of the Affiliation Agreement
  • Review and approve data access and confidentiality policies



The Chief CIBMTR Scientific Directors (MCW and NMDP) serve as co-chairs of the Joint Affiliation Board. 

Each organization then has 3 additional voting members and 2 non-voting members serve as part of the Board. 

MCW Membership

CIBMTR representatives:
  • Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD; Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR MCW
  • Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA; Executive Scientific Director, Policy and Governance, CIBMTR MCW
  • J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS; Senior Scientific Director and Principal Investigator of the SCTOD, CIBMTR MCW
  • Marcelo Pasquini, MD, MS; Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR MCW
MCW representatives:
  • TBA
  • Juliet McDevitt, JD; Associate General Counsel, MCW


NMDP Membership

CIBMTR representatives:
  • Jeffery Auletta, MD; Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP
  • Mary Hengen, MBA; Vice President, CIBMTR and Clinical Services, NMDP
  • Stephen Spellman, MBS; Vice President of Research and Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP
  • Steven Devine, MD; Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP; Chief Medical Officer, NMDP
NMDP representatives:
  • Krista Dusil; Chief Financial Officer, NMDP
  • Brian L. Lindberg, JD; Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel, NMDP



The Joint Affiliation Board meets quarterly.