Skip to Content

Advisory Committee

Main Content

The Advisory Committee is a worldwide group that reviews and approves CIBMTR activities.


  • Oversee all CIBMTR scientific activities
  • Review policies of the organization, including use of CIBMTR data
  • Review progress of ongoing studies, including publication reports
  • Approve elected individuals for positions on the Advisory, Executive, Nominating, and Cellular Immunotherapy Data Resource (CIDR) Executive Committees
  • Select Distinguished Service Award recipient for Tandem Meetings of ASTCT & CIBMTR



  • Members to represent centers in North America, Central and South America, Europe and Asia / Australia / Africa contingencies are elected by the CIBMTR Assembly for three-year terms
  • Members to represent patients, CIDR representative, and individuals with expertise in business and ethics are appointed by the Advisory Committee
  • Ex-officio members represent the National Cancer Institute (NCI); National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI); National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID); Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA); Office of Naval Research (Navy); and CIBMTR leadership
  • Members to represent donor centers and collection centers are appointed by the Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP



In-person Advisory Committee meetings are conducted once annually during the Tandem Meetings of ASTCT & CIBMTR. Additional meetings take place by conference call at least three times annually for review of the research agenda. Meetings are open to the public and federal representatives, except on rare occasions when deliberations pose a conflict of interest (such as in-center confidentiality). Ad hoc task forces meet by teleconference as needed to address specific issues.

Elected Members

  • Chair: Michael Verneris, MD, University of Colorado - Children's Hospital, Aurora, CO
  • Immediate Past Chair: John Wingard, MD, Shands HealthCare & University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
  • Vice Chairs:
    • North America: Ami Bhatt, MD, PhD, Stanford Health Care, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
    • Europe: Jakob Passweg, MD, MS, University Hospital Basel, Basel, Switzerland 
    • Central / South America: Vanderson Rocha, MD, PhD, CTMO-HCFMUSP, São Paolo, Brazil
    • Asia / Africa / Australia: Tracey O'Brien, MBA, LLM, MBChB, BSc, Kid's Cancer Center, Sydney Children's Hospital, Sydney, Australia


Members at Large (North America)

  • ​Andrew Artz, MD, MS, City of Hope, Duarte, CA
  • Courtney Fitzhugh, MD, National Heart Lung and Blood Institute – NIH Bethesda, MD
  • Mary Flowers, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center, Seattle, WA
  • ​Leo Luznik, MD, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins, Baltimore, MD
  • Sung-Yun Pai, MD, National Cancer Institute – NIH, Bethesda, MD 
  • Kirsten Williams, MD, Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA


Members at Large (Non-North America)

  • Yoshiko Atsuta, MD, PhD, Japanese Data Center for Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation, Nagoya, Japan
  • ​Rafael Duarte, MD, PhD, Clinica Puerta de Hierro, Barcelona, Spain 
  • ​David Gómez-Almaguer, MD, Hospital Universitario Dr. José Eleuterio González, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, Monterrey, Mexico
  • Guillermo Ruiz-Argüelles, MD, MACP, Clinica Ruiz de Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
  • Hélène Schoemans, MD, University Hospital Gasthuisberg, Leuven, Belgium 
  • Luca Vago, MD, PhD, Ospedale San Raffaele, Milano, Italy


Appointed Members

  • ​Bioethicist: Gregory Abel, MD, MPH, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
  • ​Business Representative: Jeff Chell, MD, NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
  • ​CIDR Executive Committee Representative: ​Amanda Olson, MD, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
  • ​Collection Center Representative: Huy Pham, MD, MPH, Be The Match, Seattle, WA
  • ​Cord Blood Bank Representative: Wouter Van’t Hof, PhD, Cleveland Cord Blood Center, Warrensville Heights, OH
  • Patient / Family Representatives (Co-Chairs, Consumer Advocacy Committee):
    • Brandon Nuechterlein, Aurora, CO
    • Robert Lisac, Jacksonville, FL


Ex Officio Committee Members (*indicates non-voting members)

  • ​Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR MCW: Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD*
  • Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP; Senior Vice President, Patient Outcomes and Experience, NMDP/Be The Match: Jeffery Auletta, MD*
  • ​Chief Statistical Director, CIBMTR MCW: Mei-Jie Zhang, PhD*
  • ​Executive Scientific Director, Policy and Governance, CIBMTR MCW: Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA*
  • ​Vice President, Patient Outcomes and Experience, NMDP/Be The Match: ​Mary Hengen, MBA*
  • ​Senior Scientific Director and Principal Investigator of the SCTOD, CIBMTR MCW: ​J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS*
  • ​Vice President of Research and Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP: ​Steve Spellman, MBS*
  • ​Senior Scientific Director, and PI and Registry Director of the CIDR, CIBMTR MCW: Marcelo Pasquini, MD, MS*
  • ​Chief Medical Officer, NMDP/Be The Match; Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP: ​Steven Devine, MD*
  • ​Chief Executive Officer, NMDP/Be The Match: ​Amy Ronneberg*
  • ​Scientific Director Emeritus, CIBMTR MCW: ​Mary Horowitz, MD, MS*
  • Director, Strategic Programs, NMDP/Be The Match: Meggan McCann, MPH*
  • ​Be The Match / MCW / HRSA Contracting Officer; MCW / HRSA Contracting Officer: ​Nawraz Shawir, MBBS*
  • ​MCW / HRSA Contracting Officers: ​Marilyn Levi, MD*
  • ​MCW / NCI Project Officer: ​Lori Henderson, PhD
  • ​MCW / NHLBI Project Officers:
    • Nancy DiFronzo, PhD
    • Nahed El Kassar, MD, PhD
  • ​MCW / NIAID Project Officer: Linda Griffith, MD, PhD
  • ​ASTCT Representative: Miguel-Angel Perales, MD
  • ​Nominating Committee Chair: Lori Muffly, MD